ACTIONS

Sans titre-2a.jpg

© Frédéric MALIGNE / LHFA / CNRS Photothèque

CATALYST DESIGN

The transformation of fats from the agri-food sector as well as the valorization of lindane and its derivatives will be carried out through catalysis in order to enable processes with high atom and energy efficiency by increasing reaction kinetics  and therefore allowing these transformations to work at moderate temperatures (<50-70 °C). To achieve this goal, different types of catalysts will be prepared, such as organocatalysts, organometallic catalysts and nanocatalysts, immobilized both on solid supports and in liquid phase.

 

The main focus will be the synthesis of metallic nanoparticles with a high active surface from abundant and inexpensive metals (such as Copper, Iron, Nickel, Cobalt). This synthesis will be carried out in solvents with negligible vapor pressure and with low environmental impact (glycerol and derivatives, ionic liquids derived from choline) to facilitate their immobilization in liquid media, and preclude their leaching, as well as promoting their stability by avoiding their deactivation. ICIQ will develop modular organometallic molecular catalysts by modifying metal-coordinated ligands, also based on inexpensive and low-toxicity metals (such as Iron, Alumunium and Nickel). In addition, new organocatalysts capable of activating substrates through weak interactions, such as hydrogen bonding, will be studied, presenting complementary reaction modes to metal catalysts.

CATALYTIC TRANSFORMATION OF INDUSTRIAL WASTES

The transformation of industrial wastes (fat, lindane and derivatives) into value-added compounds or into products with little or no impact on the environment, will be carried out by catalytic processes. The strategy proposed within the framework of TRIPyr has a direct impact on 8 of the 12 principles of Green Chemistry. Catalysis, one of these principles (principle 9), represents an essential tool to avoid waste (principle 1), increase atom economy (principle 2), increase energy efficiency (principle 6), reduce the reaction steps of a process (principle 8), the conception of synthetic strategies towards more respectful products (principles 3 and 4), as well as the use of appropriate solvents (principle 4), which implies an overall environmental benefit and cost reduction.

VALORIZATION OF WASTES AT PILOT SCALE
COMMUNICATION

This action aims to recover industrial wastes through the following strategies: Scale up laboratory processes to the pilot plant both in batch mode, and through continuous flow intensification of catalytic processes. This action will focus on the development and optimization of production methods at industrial scale encompassing technical studies of discontinuous methods and preliminary continuous studies.

The activities of this action aim to lay the foundations for the development and scale-up of batch processes, as well as the intensification of continuous flow processes enabling a smooth transposition of the chemical technologies developed in TRIPyr to industrial scale.

TRIPyr has set the objective to inform society about Green Chemistry, its principles and in particular on the key role of catalysis towards gaining access the chemicals needed in various sectors: drugs, polymers or materials for aeronautics, etc. in terms of energy economy.

The scientific dissemination of breakthroughs and project results and via public engagement strategies will be an important focus for TRIPyr. In addition, local stakeholders will be informed about the results of the project to ensure a significant impact on society. The dissemination of the results will also be done through forums for the general public, with local communities, business seminars, etc.

NOS ACTIONS

Sans titre-2a.jpg

© Frédéric MALIGNE / LHFA / CNRS Photothèque

DESIGN DES CATALYSEURS

La transformation des matières grasses issues du secteur agroalimentaire ainsi que la reconversion du lindane et de ses dérivés se feront par réactions catalytiques, dans le but de mettre en place des processus à haute économie d'atomes et d'énergie en augmentant la cinétique des réactions et donc permettant de travailler à des températures modérées (<50-70 °C). Pour cela, il est nécessaire de disposer de différents types de catalyseurs : organocatalyseurs, catalyseurs organométalliques et nanocatalyseurs, immobilisés à la fois sur des supports solides et en phase liquide.
La focale principale restera la synthèse de nanoparticules métalliques à surface active élevée et impliquant des métaux abondants et peu coûteux (tels que Cu, Fe, Ni, Co). Cette synthèse sera réalisée dans un solvant avec une pression de vapeur négligeable et à faible impact environnemental (glycérol et dérivés, liquides ioniques dérivés de la choline), afin d’immobiliser les espèces métalliques, d’éviter leur lixiviation, ainsi que de favoriser leur stabilité en évitant leur désactivation. L’ICIQ développera des catalyseurs moléculaires organométalliques modulaires en modifiant les ligands coordonnés au métal, également à base de métaux peu onéreux et à faible toxicité (tels que Fe, Al et Ni). De plus, de nouveaux organocatalyseurs capables d'activer les substrats par le biais d'interactions faibles, telles que des liaisons hydrogène, seront étudiés, présentant un mode de réaction complémentaire aux catalyseurs métalliques.

TRANSFORMATION CATALYTIQUE DES DÉCHETS INDUSTRIELS

La transformation des déchets industriels (matières grasses, lindane et dérivés) en composés à valeur ajoutée ou en produits ayant un impact faible ou nul sur l’environnement sera réalisée par des procédés catalytiques. La stratégie proposée dans le cadre de TRIPyr a un impact direct sur 8 des 12 principes de la Chimie Verte. La catalyse, l’un de ces principes (principe 9), représente un outil indispensable pour éviter les déchets (principe 1), augmenter l’économie d’atomes de processus (principe 2), augmenter l’efficacité énergétique (principe 6), réduire les étapes d’un processus (principe 8), ainsi que concevoir la synthèse et produits plus respectueux (principes 3 et 4), et utiliser de solvants appropriés (principe 4), ce qui implique un bénéfice environnemental global et une réduction des coûts.

 

VALORISATION DES DÉCHETS A ÉCHELLE PILOTE
COMMUNICATION

Cette action vise à valoriser les déchets industriels grâce aux stratégies suivantes: passage à l’installation pilote en mode discontinu et intensification en flux continu des processus catalytiques. Cette action portera sur le développement et l'optimisation de méthodes de production à l'échelle industrielle à partir d'études techniques de méthodes discontinues et d'études préliminaires continues.
Les activités qui composent cette action ont pour objectif de jeter les bases du développement et de la mise à l'échelle de procédés par lots, ainsi que de l'intensification des procédés en flux continu permettant la transposition à l'échelle industrielle des technologies chimiques développées dans TRIPyr.

TRIPyr s'est donné l'objectif d'informer la société sur la Chimie Verte, ses principes et en particulier sur la position clé que la catalyse occupe pour l’obtention des produits chimiques impliqués dans des secteurs variés : médicaments, polymères ou matériaux pour l’aéronautique, de façon économe aussi en termes d’énergie.

La diffusion scientifique des avancées, les résultats du projet et leurs exploitations auprès de différents acteurs de la société seront un axe important. Des relais locaux graviteront autour du projet afin d’assurer un impact important à la société. La dissémination des résultats se fera aussi au travers de temps de présence sur divers forums grands publics, auprès des collectivités, sur des séminaires d'entreprises, etc...